Step 5: Measure Your Results

It’s easy to measure the success of a direct mail campaign. To get your conversion rate, divide the number of mailers you sent out (e.g., 30,000) by the number of people who responded to the mailer and became an actual lead (e.g., 1,000). To get your CPA, divide the total cost of the campaign (e.g., $50,000) by the number of leads obtained. (In this case, if you obtain 1,000 leads at $50,000, your CPA is $50 per lead. If 200 of those leads convert to customers, your cost-per-sale is $50,000 ÷ 200 = $250.)

You should run several test campaigns to see whether direct mail will work as a marketing tool for your types of products or services. You need to measure the response rate you get from direct mail to see whether ...

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