You can erase pictures from a memory card when it's in your camera in three ways. The next sections give you the lowdown.
Regardless of which delete technique you want to use, you can't delete photos that you protected or hid by using the Protect or Hide Image features. Later sections in this chapter explain both features and show you how to unprotect and unhide images so that you can delete them.
The Delete button is key to erasing single images, but the process varies depending on which playback display mode you're using, as follows:
After you press Delete, you see a message asking whether you want to erase the picture. If you do, press the Delete button again. Or, to cancel out of the process, press the Playback button.
If you really want to get down into your camera's customization weeds — and I do believe this is about as weedy as it gets — you can control which picture the camera displays after you delete the current picture. ...