O'Reilly logo

Microsoft® Windows® SharePoint® Services 3.0 Step by Step by Penelope Coventry, Todd C. Bleeker, Bill English, Olga M. Londer

Stay ahead with the world's most comprehensive technology and business learning platform.

With Safari, you learn the way you learn best. Get unlimited access to videos, live online training, learning paths, books, tutorials, and more.

Start Free Trial

No credit card required

Using the Recycle Bin

The Recycle Bin in Windows SharePoint Services provides two-stage protection against accidental deletions. When you delete a document or other item from the Windows SharePoint Services site, it is deleted from the site and moved to the site’s Recycle Bin, where it can be restored if needed. If you then delete this item from the site’s Recycle Bin, it is moved to the site collection’s Recycle Bin. From there, the document can be either restored to its original location or deleted.

Important

By default, the site’s Recycle Bin holds the items for 30 days. Your SharePoint administrator can modify this setting.

In this exercise, you will delete and restore a document from the Recycle Bin.

Note

OPEN the SharePoint site in which you’d ...

With Safari, you learn the way you learn best. Get unlimited access to videos, live online training, learning paths, books, interactive tutorials, and more.

Start Free Trial

No credit card required