O'Reilly logo

Stay ahead with the world's most comprehensive technology and business learning platform.

With Safari, you learn the way you learn best. Get unlimited access to videos, live online training, learning paths, books, tutorials, and more.

Start Free Trial

No credit card required

EFS Systems on a Linux Base: Getting Started

Book Description

This IBM Redbooks publication describes the basic installation of FLEX-ES (a product of Fundamental Software, Inc., Fremont, California) with several z/OS operating system packages. Much of the material is in cookbook format. More advanced techniques and options are described in "S/390 PartnerWorld for Developers, ITSO/EFS Project EFS Systems on a Linux Base: Additional Topics", SG24-7008. These books are intended primarily for members of the IBM PartnerWorld for Development organization and for internal IBM users of the ITSO/EFS package.

This second edition includes the latest updates to the first edition of this book. It also contains more information about using Red Hat 9.0 with FLEX-ES Release 6.2.14.

Table of Contents

  1. Notices
    1. Trademarks
  2. Preface
    1. The team that wrote this redbook
    2. Become a published author
    3. Comments welcome
  3. Chapter 1: Introduction
    1. Purpose of this redbook
    2. Terminology
    3. Connectivity overview
    4. Basic EFS requirements
      1. System selection
    5. EFS limitations
    6. Detailed FLEX-ES overview
  4. Chapter 2: Practical planning
    1. General planning
      1. Production or sandbox
      2. Selecting a Linux distribution
      3. Newer hardware and Linux
      4. Disk space needed
      5. Linux file system layout
      6. Disk modes for FLEX-ES
      7. Network connections
    2. ThinkPad topics
      1. T40 ThinkPads
      2. BIOS settings
      3. Device planning (Ultrabay usage)
      4. Choices for disk layouts
      5. Dual boot, alternate boot
    3. Larger server topics
      1. SMP, large memory, new LAN adapters
      2. BIOS and ServeRAID adapter updates
      3. RAID configuration
    4. Dual boot preparation
  5. Chapter 3: Linux installation
    1. Basic Red Hat Linux 9.0 installation
    2. Installation notes
    3. Kernel rebuild
    4. Additional kernel steps
      1. ServeRAID updates
      2. LVM updates
    5. Additional Linux steps
      1. Red Hat Linux updates
  6. Chapter 4: FLEX-ES installation
    1. FLEX-ES installation steps
      1. Default PATH
      2. Ownership of /s390 mount point
      3. Location of x3270 program
    2. Installing the FLEX-ES license key and dongle
    3. Reboot
    4. Installing FLEX-ES upgrades
  7. Chapter 5: S/390 operating system installation
    1. AD CD-ROM distributions
      1. z/OS AD CD-ROM addresses and IPL data
      2. Installation tasks
    2. Dump/restore distribution
    3. The tar file distributions
    4. OMA/2 distributions
    5. File ownership (any distribution)
  8. Chapter 6: Operational details
    1. Linux desktop windows
    2. FLEX-ES system and resource definitions
      1. Building a shell script
      2. IPL z/OS
      3. User terminal connection
      4. IODF requirements
      5. System performance monitors
      6. TCP/IP for z/OS
    3. Shutting down
    4. More comments
  9. Chapter 7: Basic discussions
    1. Resource definitions
    2. Linux windows and FLEX-ES operation
    3. 64-bit operation
    4. Creating additional emulated volumes
    5. Operating systems messages console
    6. x3270 client
    7. S/390 identification
    8. z/OS TCP/IP profile
    9. Initial debugging
    10. VTAM APAR
    11. Security
    12. RAS discussion
    13. Useful Linux commands
  10. Chapter 8: FAQs
  11. Appendix A: Sample FLEX-ES operation files
    1. Definitions for the Dallas DEMOpkg
    2. Minimal AD system definitions
    3. Full AD system definitions
    4. Customized Offerings Driver definitions
    5. z/VM OMA/2 definitions
    6. Definition statements
  12. Related publications
    1. IBM Redbooks
    2. Other publications
    3. Online resources
    4. How to get IBM Redbooks
    5. Help from IBM
  13. Index
  14. Back cover