O'Reilly logo
  • Derrick Marshall thinks this is interesting:

If you enable publishing features for your site but decide that you do not need any of these security groups, you can leave these groups unpopulated or delete the default groups that you are not using. It is usually better to leave only those security groups that you are actually using on your site to create a “cleaner” and less confusing experience for site owners. However, you should be thoughtful about which groups you delete because your site and business needs may evolve over time.

From

Cover of Essential SharePoint 2013, Second Edition

Note

site groups