O'Reilly logo
  • Derrick Marshall thinks this is interesting:

Users who do not have the ability to manage permissions do not actually get to share anything without approval, even though they have access to the Share option. All requests to share are sent to the site owner, who then can approve or deny them. Unfortunately, it won’t be obvious to your users that they aren’t really sharing, so you will need to explain this during training. (When a visitor or member of a SharePoint site initiates a sharing request, a pop-up displays that lets them know that the request has been sent to the site owner. However, the pop-up does not display for very long, so it might be missed by busy users.)


Cover of Essential SharePoint 2013, Second Edition


External SHaring